Visiting Dover-Foxcroft, Maine soon? Don’t miss the lakes, parks, museums, historic sites and more we have to offer!
Just a few places to go and things to do during your visit to Dover-Foxcroft and the Freedom House Bed & Breakfast…
Take in the beauty of our lakes and parks
Peaks Kenny State Park
On the shores of Sebec Lake, offering day visitors and campers a peaceful, wooded setting in which to enjoy boating, fishing, swimming, hiking and picnicking. With 56 sites set among stately trees and large glacial boulders near the lake, the campground fosters quiet and private enjoyment of a beautiful natural setting. The 839-acre park is located six miles north of Dover-Foxcroft on the South Cove of Sebec Lake. State Park Reservations Office 207-624-9950 or www.campwithme.com.
Located in Greenville, Moosehead is Maine’s largest and most majestic lake, and is the largest mountain-lake in the eastern United States. The best way to see the lake in its entirety and to enjoy its natural beauty is to take a cruise on the historic Katahdin Steamboat. Mount Kineo, with 700-foot cliffs rising straight up from Moosehead Lake, has attracted visitors for centuries. The Moosehead region includes the headwaters of the Kennebec, the West Branch of the Penobscot, the Piscataquis, the Pleasant, and the Saint John rivers, and is home to Lily Bay State Park. The region has a large moose population; moose outnumber people three to one! While visiting the lake, visitors enjoy the town of Greenville, with many boutiques, shops, and restaurants to satisfy. For more information, call the ML RCOC at 207-695-2702.
See something historic
The B52 Crash Site on Elephant Mountain
East of the southern tip of Moosehead Lake, Elephant Mountain rises 2,636 feet above sea level and vaguely resembles an elephant’s head, sans tusks. No trail reaches its summit, but a short trail leads up to the historic site where a B-52 crashed into the mountain on Jan. 24, 1963, killing seven men aboard.
Low’s Covered Bridge
Historic covered bridge built in 1830 that received its name from early settler, Robert Low. Low’s Rebuilt in 1843, 1857, and 1987; twice destroyed by spring flooding. One of only nine covered bridges left in Maine, it is listed on the National Register of Historic Places Located on Rt. 15 in Guilford, Maine.
The Harrigan Learning Center and Museum
Owned by Three Rivers Kiwanis in Milo, this unforgettable learning center and museum contains an incredible collection of fossils, minerals, and Indian artifacts. The walls are covered in beautiful murals, hand-painted by local artist Suzette East, whose talent has captured scenes from the moments in history from which many of the artifacts and fossils are derived, and the sound of classical music plays softly through the building. Hours are Wednesday, Saturday, and Sunday 10:00am -3:00pm. Located at 24 Gerrish Rd, Milo. Admission by donation. For more info, visit threerivers-kiwanis.org.
The Blacksmith Shop Museum
Originally built in 1863 by Nicholas A. Chandler. The museum retains much of its original equipment including forge, ox-lifter, anvil and other tools. It also boasts a collection of agricultural and rural tools and material. On the National Register of Historic Places and located at 100 Dawes Road, Dover-Foxcroft, Maine. Open daily May-October. Please see events calendar for blacksmith demonstration days.
Discover something new, and get some exercise!
Moosehead Pinnacle Pursuit™
Piscataquis County’s newest challenge for the hiker! The mountains of the Moosehead Pinnacle Pursuit™ offer panoramic views from each corner of the Moosehead Lake region. Finish all 6 hikes and become a registered member of the Moosehead Pinnacle Pursuit. The mountains of this exciting challenge are Mount Kineo, Number Four, Whitecap, Eagle Rock, Big Moose, and Borestone. For more information, please visit mooseheadpinnaclepursuit.com.
The Waterfalls of Piscataquis County
Over 100 waterfalls have been catalogued in Piscataquis County, divided into four groups, and more are being discovered all the time! The waterfalls at Gulf Hagas include Stair, Billings, Buttermilk and Screw Auger. Outside Gulf Hagas include West Chairback Pond, Highbridge, and Haybrook. The falls in the Bodfish Valley include Little Wilson, Upper Little Wilson, Lower Big Wilson Stream, Thompson, Vaughn Stream, Slugundy, and Indian Stream. The falls on or near Routes 6/15, 150 and 16 include Goodell Brook, Hebron Stream, Kingsbury Stream, Leeman Brook, Tobey’s Falls, and Early’s Landing. If you like to explore and you love natural beauty, make a day of it and explore our waterfalls! For details and directions, please visit www.mainewoodstourism.com.